We are living in strange times

Rear view of boy and girl carrying umbrella on street

These are strange times. No matter your political beliefs or your ability to absorb the twenty-four hour news cycle, these are strange times. I find myself at loose ends much more since the start of the New Year, searching for purpose and making sure I can lay my head on my pillow at night feeling that I am still doing more good than harm. I find that I am actively working on maintaining my belief that life is not a zero sum game. I do not have to win at someone else’s expense. I am able to do well and promote good without needing to put someone else down. Right? I’m checking in with myself more about this lately. And so I get drawn back to empathy. I am convinced that practicing and teaching empathy is our way forward. This has some great pointers for that purpose:

How to Raise Empathetic Kids… Real Simple Magazine

About Kathleen McNamara Head's Up!

an educator in Independent Schools for over 28 years
This entry was posted in 21st Century Skills, academic excellence in elementary schools, adolescent development, aggression among girls, body image, Challenge Success, childhood development, education, empathy, Harvard Graduate School of education, Harvard's Caring Schools Initiative, leadership, leadership in children. Bookmark the permalink.