A former student, a personal goal and a happy intersection in independent schools…

ultra-hero

What I remember most about Mirna as a student living in the dorms in my first teaching job at The Masters School in Dobbs Ferry, N.Y. is her voice. She used to bring me to tears when she sang. Her voice is unbelievable. The beauty of  Facebook is the ability to follow some of my amazing former students in their journeys in life: professional careers, personal triumphs, families and careers built. It is very gratifying.

This article about Mirna humbled me. I am in Day 4 of training for a half marathon with multiple members of my family: sisters in law, nieces and cousins, in memory of my mother who passed away this past March. This story is inspiring and yes, I can train to run 13 miles. Thanks, Mirna for the inspiration and for being such a great female role model for girls and women in independent schools and around the world!

Ultra Runner, Mirna Valerio, a former student of mine

About Kathleen McNamara Head's Up!

an educator in Independent Schools for over 28 years
This entry was posted in adult development, leadership, Mirna Valerio, Runner's World Magazine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

