Je suis Charlie…

20140108-PARIS-slide-OKCS-mediumThreeByTwo210-v3

I have had a pit in my stomach most of the day after learning about the terrible attack on Charlie Hebdo in Paris today. How to make sense of it? How to talk about it with my children? How to think about it as an educator? As a human being? As a person living in a world where freedom of speech is rarely a seriously debated topic?

I have also found it heartening to see the movement of solidarity in Paris and across France. I want to support my French colleagues and friends. I want to mourn the senseless deaths. I want to help. Thanks, Nicholas Kristof for helping me think about this with less rancor and just plain sadness.

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/01/08/opinion/nicholas-kristof-lessons-from-the-charlie-hebdo-shooting-in-paris.html?hp&WT.nav=c-column-top-span-region&module=ArrowsNav&contentCollection=Opinion&action=keypress&region=FixedLeft&pgtype=article

About Kathleen McNamara Head's Up!

an educator in Independent Schools for over 28 years
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

