When failure paves the way for success…

So the summer 2013 is barely underway, but I have managed to get in two sculling lessons before our family vacation this week. There are things I love about being out on the water, safely followed by an instructor who is gently prodding me along, giving small tips, simple reminders, understanding that when I overthink it, I flail more than when I just get into a groove and stroke.

This morning’s lesson was fine, but I was feeling a little tired and also pretty tense. Since I started taking lessons last summer, I have been overly focused on NOT tipping, seeing that as a sign of failure. Tipping over = failure. So through summer 2012 ans the start of 2013 I have felt some sense of accomplishment until today. Yes, I tipped.

Lessons?

Tipping = learning, not failure. For one thing, it was refreshing. For another, I survived. For a third thing, I learned that the experience will actually help me focus on the joy of rowing now that my record of staying upright is over, and chances, are, I will actually start to improve a little more because I can relax into dealing with my technique and not avoiding going in the water.

More to follow…Image

About Kathleen McNamara Head's Up!

an educator in Independent Schools for over 28 years
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

