Klingenstein Head’s Program, February 8, 2013 Abrupt End…

Image

This amazing two weeks came to an abrupt and disruptive end with the arrival of Winter Storm Nemo. Columbia completely shut down Thursday evening for Friday morning, and thus our final research presentations to the Graduate Students and our “graduation lunch” went away! In the end, such a decision allowed most of our International Colleagues to travel early and get out of the city before NEMO struck, so all’s well that ends well. I will be savoring the opportunity to reflect on these two weeks for a long time to come. I am finishing up my research paper on Flexible Tuition models and will share that back at school when the opportunity is right. Since I always ask folks at my school to remember to express gratitude, I do so here.

 

I am grateful for the TPS board and a school community that supported this amazing opportunity for me by doing what needed to be done over these last two weeks.

I am grateful to the Klingenstein Family Foundation for the support and for running this one-of-a-kind, fully funded program for people in leadership roles in Independent Schools. As we have all said many times, it can indeed be lonely at the top, but I now have a community of seventeen other heads and some terrific resources at Columbia for future conversations.

I am grateful to Pearl Rock Kane, and everyone at the Klingenstein office: Cindy, Adele, Peter and Patti.

I am grateful for the chance to be a student again, to think deeply about moral leadership, to discuss philosophy and to bring home work that will inform some of our biggest projects moving forward.

I am grateful. Thank You!

About Kathleen McNamara Head's Up!

an educator in Independent Schools for over 28 years
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

