Learning a new skill or how sculling has made me humble…

Having just completed my first year at Tuxedo Park School, I have had the enormous pleasure of watching a full year, in its entirety, with peaks and valleys, busy times and quieter times. I am a big proponent of learning a new skill and making sure that even as adults in schools, we are never too far away from the edge of discomfort that most students experience all the time: learning new skills, acquiring new knowledge and working from discomfort to mastering something new, and sometimes wildly different. For me, this summer, that experience is in a long, narrow scull on the waters of Tuxedo Lake.

I have been taking sculling lessons with a local pro and trying to master the art of keeping the boat upright, maintaining even hands with the oars and relaxing my hands and shoulders. On a calm, quiet morning when the lake could be mistaken for a mirror, this is easy. On windy days, I tense up and panic; uneven hands and tense shoulders equal a flipped boat. The terms pull, feather, breathe, recovery andrelax take on new meaning and carry new importance as I try and move through the water calmly, rhythmically. It’s a lot like a day at school. It’s a good reminder to mush through discomfort and challenge myself to do something I spend time thinking I absolutely cannot do. I think of our students and I admire their strength and courage. They take risks every day; they make progress, try and again, succeed, fail and repeat the cycle all over again. I admire them. I want to be just like them. And so, I row.

Once I am in the zone, making my way from one side of the lake to another, I relax and settle into my strokes, feeling connected to the boat and the water, in awe of the beauty and the wonder of this magical place. A red tail hawk here, a fish there, some folks cycling along the road and a few guys fishing in their boat.  It’s amazing and I feel so lucky. Enjoy your summer and learn something new.

 

About Kathleen McNamara Head's Up!

an educator in Independent Schools for over 28 years
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

